Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /kunden/44128_50931/rp-hosting/14089073/15085021/deutsch/includes/datenbank_include.php on line 31
Biography of Luciano Berio (1925-2003): biography, sheet music, recordings, weblinks and literature

Biography of Luciano Berio (1925-2003)

Born in Oneglia, Italy
first music lessons with the father and grandfather
Music studies in Milan, music theory and later composition with Ghedini
Studies in Tanglewood, California with Luigi Dallapiccola on a studentship of the Koussevitzky foundation.
Founder of the Studio di Fonologia, centre for electronic music in Milan
Composition of Sequenza I for flute solo for Severino Gazzelloni
Teaches at Tanglewood, Mills College and Juillard School
Back to America, teaching at Mills College and Juillard School
Great influence on his compositions by his wife, the singer Cathy Berberian
Head of the electroacoustical department of IRCAM in Paris
Foundation of the institute Tempo reale for live electronics in Florence
President of the Accademia S. Cecilia in Rome
Dies in Rome

Sheet music for flute:

Opus Number Zoo
edition on notenbuch.deCD-Aufnahmen bei jpc.deMP3-Download bei
(flute/alto flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn)
Rating: difficult
  1. Tanz in der Scheune
  2. Das Pferd
  3. Die Maus
  4. Die Kater
These are only the parts, the score is separately available.
Really hard to play and speak. Perhaps speaking is even more difficult than playing. The three languages of the text make it hard to find the right one in time. Very inventive.

Sequenza I
edition on notenbuch.deCD-Aufnahmen bei jpc.deMP3-Download bei
Rating: very difficult
Original edition in space notation.
Written in 1958, being the first of the solo Sequenzas. It is dedicated to the Italian flutist Severino Gazzelloni.

Sequenza I
edition on notenbuch.deCD-Aufnahmen bei jpc.deMP3-Download bei
Rating: very difficult
This edition is printed in rhythmical notation. The transposition was done by Berio himself, because he didn't like the different interpretations.

CDs with/from Luciano Berio

    Kalevi Aho: Solo III:
  1. I. Viertel = 66 (08:57:00)
  2. II. Presto (04:09:00)
  3. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Sonate a-moll W. 132:
  4. Poco Adagio (05:06:00)
  5. Allegro (05:02:00)
  6. Allegro (04:53:00)
  7. Malcolm Arnold: Fantasy for Flute (04:30:00)
  8. Jurriaan Andriessen: Pastorale d'ete:
  9. Lento ad libitum (02:19:00)
  10. Allegro molto (00:46:00)
  11. Eugène Bozza: Image pour flute seule Op. 38 (1940) (05:13:00)
  12. Johann Sebastian Bach: Partita a-moll BWV 1013:
  13. Allemande (05:20:00)
  14. Corrente (03:58:00)
  15. Sarabande (05:34:00)
  16. Bourree Anglaise (02:43:00)
  17. Luciano Berio: Sequenza I per flauto solo (1958) (07:23:00)
Ich liebe diese Interpretation der Sequenza.... tolle Tonkultur.
Cathy Berberian, Jean Claude Casadesus, Jean Pierre Drouet, Vinko Globokar, Aurèle Nicolet, Francis Pierre
Luciano Berio (1991)
Circles - Sequenza I - Sequenza III - Sequenza V
  1. Circles für eine Frauenstimme, Harfe und zwei Schlagzeuger (18:06:00)
  2. Sequenza I für Flöte solo (04:56:00)
  3. Sequenza III für Stimme solo (08:49:00)
  4. Sequenza V für Posaune solo (07:28:00)
    Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonate a-moll:
  1. Allemande (03:32:00)
  2. Corrente (02:42:00)
  3. Sarabande (03:52:00)
  4. Bourree anglaise (01:42:00)
  5. Marin Marais: Variationen über "Les Folies d'Espagne" (09:32:00)
  6. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Solosonate a-moll (11:59:00)
  7. Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Sonata appassionata fis-moll (04:22:00)
  8. Willy Burkhard: Suite op. 98:
  9. Tranquillo (03:34:00)
  10. Dialog (03:00:00)
  11. Lied (03:02:00)
  12. Allegro agitato (02:21:00)
  13. Edgar Varèse: Density 21.5 (04:26:00)
  14. Luciano Berio: Sequenza (06:40:00)
  15. Kazuo Fukushima: Mei (04:45:00)
Das sind die absoluten Standard-Solostücke, all die Werke, die jeder irgendwann mal spielen wird: beide Bachs, Sequenza, Fukushima, Marais. Gespielt von einem der ganz großen. War eine meiner allerersten Flöten-CDs überhaupt. Fast ein Stückchen Flötengeschichte und in jedem Fall ein würdiges Objekt für das CD-Regal jedes Flötisten.

Literature von/über Luciano Berio

Last edit 24.12.2012