Biography of Peteris Vasks (*1946)

Born in Aiizpute (Latvia)
Composition and double bass studies at the Riga Music Academy and the Lithuanian Music Academy in Vilnius
Double bass of Lithuanian Pilharmonic Orchestra, Latvian Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra and Orchestra of Latvian radio and Television
Member of Lithuanian Philharmonic Orchestra
Member of Latvian Philharmonid Chamber Orchestra
World premiere of Landscape with Birds in Riga, played of Imants Sneibis
Member of the Orchestra of Latvian Radio and Television
Premiere of the sonata for solo flute in Helsinki, played by Imants Sneibis
Herder Prize of the Alfred Toepfer Stiftung Hamburg
World premiere of the flute concerto with Michael Faust, WDR Symphony orchestra and Semyon Bychkov in Cologne

CDs with/from Peteris Vasks

Sheila Arnold, Michael Faust, Patrick Gallois, Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä
Pēteris Vasks: Flute Concerto (2013)
Flute Sonata - Aria e danza - Landscape with Birds
    Concerto for Flute and Orchestra (2007-2008, rev. 2011):
  1. Cantabile (08:10:00)
  2. Quasi una Burlesca (14:07:00)
  3. Cantabile (11:13:00)
  4. Sonata for Flute and Alto Flute Solo (1992):
  5. Nakts (Night) - Misterioso (03:32:00)
  6. Lidojums (Flight) - Agitato (05:06:00)
  7. Nakts (Night) - Misterioso (03:15:00)
  8. Aria e danza for Flute and Piano (1972, rev. 2010):
  9. Aria (06:57:00)
  10. Danza - Giocoso (04:16:00)
  11. Landscape with Birds for Flute Solo (1980) (08:19:00)
Last edit 12.05.2020